PMDP’s new roster of SEC scholars (back row, L-R): Faustino N. Toradio, Hansen W. Chu, Elpidio A. Durwin, Lorenzo M. Dizon, Michael C. Camangeg, Mario R. Obra, Jr., and Rodolfo B. Del Rosario, (front row, L-R) Nelson S. Morales Jr., Dante J. Marcelo, Ma. Jannet B. Nero, Grace M. Clet, Liza J. Melendez, Rose Marie Teves-Pinili, Edmark Ian L. Cabio, Emmanuel C. Macaraeg, Renato L. Limsiaco, and Lolito R. Tacardon.

The Development Academy of the Philippines (DAP) formally received the eighth batch of scholars, comprised of 17 senior government executives from 11 agencies and eight regions, at the Opening Ceremony for the Public Management Development Program-Senior Executives Class (PMDP-SEC) at the DAP Conference Center in Tagaytay City through a program orientation, traditional Sunduan activity, and gala night last August 13.

DAP President and CEO Engelbert Caronan Jr. welcomed the new scholars to their new home for the three-month residential training.  He advised them to make the most of their training in the PMDP so that they can be the agile and innovative people that every government organization needs to function efficiently and respond to the challenges of modern society.

PMDP-SEC 7 alumna Atty. Gina A. Crucio of the Civil Service Commission, in her   inspirational message, said that acceptance to the PMDP is not just a privilege enjoyed by a scholar but is a form of responsibility and investment as well.  “Being in SEC 8 is no longer about yourself. It is now about studying and then working for a higher purpose and doing the most good for all our stakeholders when you’re back in your respective agencies,” underscored Crucio.

SEC Batch 7-Tambayayong got acquainted with the members of SEC 8 through the sunduan activity.  Moreover, Tambayayong Class President Helen Flores challenged the new batch of SEC scholars to make DAP-PMDP and the bureaucracy proud of them as they innovatively enhance the paradigm of public service in the country.  Hansen Chu of the Land Bank of the Philippines accepted the challenge on behalf of SEC Batch 8 scholars.

The event was also graced by PMDP Steering Committee Alternate Chairperson, National Economic Development Authority Undersecretary Jose Miguel R. Dela Rosa, SEC 8 Class Director Ramonesa R. Ricardo, Faculty Members Sofronio F. Llorin and Apricinia B. Fernandez, and PMDP Program Manager Reina Carmelita F. Young. – Karen Salvino