The Development Academy of the Philippines – Productivity and Development Center (DAP – PDC), announced the selected ten 2020 best practices from the 71 entries in the GBPR or the Government Best Practice Recognition at the virtual ceremony held last 22-23 October 2020.

“We congratulate the GBPR recipients, and express gratitude to our panel of judges for their expertise and devoted effort in selecting the very best entries,” says Melani Garcia-Mercader, Project Manager.

GBPR 2020 Project Team, judges and finalists during the presentation to the panel of judges

The adjudged GBPR 2020 best entries are as follows:

1. Bataan General Hospital and Medical Center – Service Delivery Network (SDN) Online Referral System

2. City Government of Paranaque – Project Express Lane Operation

3. Camarines Norte State College – eBPPro: Electronic Budget Planning Process of Camarines Norte State College

4. Department of Science and Technology XI – Establishment of Food Processing Innovation Center-Davao as a Common Service Facility

5. University of the Philippines Diliman – Development of the UP Diliman Supply and Property Management Office Common-Use Supplies and Equipment (SPMO-CSE) Portal

6. Local Government Unit of Cauayan City, Isabela – Cauayan City’s Food Bank

7. Local Government Unit of General Santos City – “Hi PERA” High Personal Effectiveness through Resource Allocation

8. Pampanga State Agricultural University – Coffee-Based Agroforestry: Pampanga State Agricultural University’s Model to Promote Sustainable Co-Management of Forest Land With Informal Settlers

9. Sangguniang Bayan of Paracale – Barangay Empowerment Synergy and Transparency Program of Sangguniang Bayan of Paracale

10. Visayas State University – Operational Strategic Performance Management System (SPMS)

The best entries were selected based on the following criteria: best practice evidence (20%), replicability of practice (10%), review/next steps planned (10%), level of deployment (10%), innovation (20%), and best practice performance results (30%). Civil Service Commission Director Alma Flores-Foronda, Department of Budget and Management Assistant Secretary Clarito Alejandr D. Magsino, and Philippine Quality Award Judge and Assessor, Engr. Raymond R. Tan, served as judges for the GBPR 2020.

These 10 recipients, according to Engr Tan, highlighted the best practices in the government that we should all be proud of and worth emulating by other agencies.

As an off-shoot of the regular search for the government best practices, the search for the GBPR COVID-19 response best practice,is also ongoing and will run until March 15, 2021. Agencies with good or best practices on how they have responded to the COVID-19 pandemic are encouraged to join.


The GBPR, being conducted by the DAP – PDC, under the Government Quality Management Program (GQMP), fosters knowledge sharing of innovations that have been proven effective and helpful in improving organizational productivity and performance in the public sector.

The DAP, as the National Productivity Organization, seeks to empower leaders, strengthen institutions, and build the nation through pioneering, value adding, synergistic ideas, concepts, principles, techniques, and technologies addressing development problems of local, national, and international significance. DAP – PDC offers capability building, technical assistance, and research related to productivity and quality improvement. For more information, visit, email or call 632-2156/2137.

To get more details on the GBPR and the complete list of 2020 finalists and recipients email: Access GBPR COVID-19 entry form: