The group is shown in a light mood with DAP officials and officials of the host school during a break in the five-day training – called “Driving Excellence in Governance” – at the National University of Singapore’s Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy.

Thirty-three delegates from the League of Vice Governors of the Philippines (LVGP), headed by its national president, Isabela Vice Governor Antonio Albano, and its chairman of the board, Oriental Mindoro Vice Governor Humerlito Dolor, recently attended the foreign study “Driving Excellence in Governance” at the National University of Singapore’s Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy (NUS-LKYSPP).

The foreign study, which is the academic visit phase, the second phase of the project funded under the General Appropriations Act, was overseen by the Development Academy of the Philippines, which was commissioned by the LVGP to conduct the entire project and then engaged the NUS-LKYSPP to design and implement its second phase.

The recent study was designed for the vice governors and LVGP members to sharpen their knowledge on the new trends and competencies required of political leaders as well as to enable them to critically identify areas and aspects of leadership and policy areas “where they could apply and inject innovative strategies and formulate appropriate solutions.”

Representatives from the NUS-LKYSPP that met with the participants included Associate Dean Donald Low, Vice Dean (Research) and Associate Professor Eduardo Araral, Associate Professor Vu Minh Khuong, and the Executive Education Department’s Head of Programmes McRhon Banderlipe I.  The DAP secretariat, on the other hand, was headed by Senior Vice President for Programs Magdalena Mendoza.  The activity is the first executive program at the NUS-LKYSPP participated in by a full Filipino delegation.

LVGP delegates that participated in the foreign study, besides Albano and Dolor, were former Aklan Vice Governor Gabrielle Calizo-Quimpo, Ms. Earth 2017 Katherine Elizabeth Espin Gomez, Zambales Vice Governor Angelica Magsaysay, Laguna Vice Governor Katherine Agapay, Misamis Oriental Vice Governor Jose Mari Pelaez, Albay Vice Governor Harold Imperial, Capiz Vice Governor Esteban Evan Contreras, Aklan Vice Governor Reynaldo Quimpo, Leyte Vice Governor Carlo Loreto, Antique Vice Governor Edgar Denosta, Romblon Vice Governor Jose Riano, Basilan Vice Governor Yusop Alano, Isabela City Administrator Dayang Mirhama Jaljalis, Cavite Province’s Chief Political Officer Andrianne Mark Ng, LVGP Executive Director Annalyn Flores, Dinagat Islands Vice Governor Benglen Ecleo, Palawan Vice Governor Victorino Dennis Socrates, Surigao del Sur Vice Governor Manuel Alameda Sr., Cavite Vice Governor Ramon Jolo Revilla III, Quezon Vice Governor Samuel Nantes, Eastern Samar Vice Governor Marcelo Ferdinand Picardal, Negros Oriental Vice Governor Edward Mark Macias, Iloilo Vice Governor Christine Garin, Lanao del Norte Vice Governor Maria Cristina Atay, Siquijor Vice Governor Mei Ling Quezon, Masbate Vice Governor Jo Kristine Revil, former Masbate Vice Governor Vicente Homer Revil, Davao del Norte Vice Governor Alan Dujali, former Cagayan Vice Governor Leonides Fausto, Surigao del Norte Vice Governor Arturo Carlos Egay Jr., and Biliran Vice Governor Eriberto Tubis Jr. (DAP)